ANSS logo

The Liberty Hyde Bailey Award – presented for Excellence, Achievement, and Outstanding Service to Nature Study.

The award was established in 1987 to honor the American Nature Study Society first president, Liberty Hyde Bailey. And to recognize his significant contributions to the development of nature study.

The award is/was presented to an individual who exemplifies ideals expressed by Bailey embodied in the following criteria: displays a strong sense of commitment to the development and implementation of nature study; exhibits the ability to convey an appreciation, understanding, and respect of the natural world; and, is a strong advocate in promoting nature study on a local, regional and national level.

The Liberty Hyde Bailey Award has been presented to:

  • 1991-Dr. John Brainerd
  • 1995-Helen Ross Russell
  • 1997-Forest Buchanan
  • —— -Martha Munzer